Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
DF Brandon

Programming Update #3: Tools Development

170 posts in this topic

Howdy, folks!

I’m Brandon, one of the programmers on DFA. I’m a systems programmer, which means I specialize in the plumbing: writing low-level systems the game can rely on, optimizing, working on cross-platform compatibility, and - my personal favorite - developing tools.

As Oliver discussed, we’re building the game on top of Moai. It’s an excellent engine from our buddies at Zipline and is proving to be a great choice for DFA. However, one sacrifice we make by not using Buddha – our internal codename for the Brütal Legend engine – is that we can’t use some of the

we’ve built over the years.

Buddha knows lots of neat tricks. Most assets can be hot reloaded, meaning that you can do things like tweak a 3D model, export, and see the game swap in the updated model on the fly. We’ve also accumulated a lot of very helpful tools and in-engine editors over the years.

For example, here are a couple of the embedded Buddha tools running in our beautiful* programmer test world:

1.png

*not actually beautiful

The overlay on the left shows us detailed information about our resource memory budgets. All of the resources are broken into categories so that you can see how much memory is being used separately by characters, the environment, and so forth. The display updates in real time, so you can play through the game and spot problems right as they occur. We have lots of overlays like this that give us detailed information about the game and help us figure out what’s going wrong as soon as problems occur.