Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
DF Oliver

Programming Update #4: Animating the Jack

266 posts in this topic

Hi! It’s time for another programming update! This time I’ll tell you guys about our character animation system. We’ll even have to use some (simple) math in the end. So let’s get going.

A few weeks ago we met with our amazing artists Ray and Lee to talk about the goals for our character animation tech. Expressive characters are obviously very important for this game, but as a programmer I know that we have to fit them into memory, too. What we need is an awesome system that will be expressive and efficient. How will we do that? Good question!

In the old days of SCUMM, characters were basically animated using flipbooks (a slight simplification for the sake of clarity). That means a moving character was represented by a series of individual images called animation frames that were hand drawn by talented artists. The game would then show these images at the correct speed which would give the impression of a moving character. Redbot was done in a similar way and this is what the flipbook of his walk cycle looks like (as you can see I’m not really a good animator):

1.png

While the flipbook technique is flexible and makes it possible to create very expressive animations, it is also very slow to produce and change. It’s quite a lot of work for an artist to draw a series of consistent frames. Fifteen years ago, this wasn’t so much of a problem because the games were running at a much lower resolution, which means that a few animation frames were usually enough to create a convincingly moving character. For example, Guybrush’s walk cycle in The Secret of Monkey Island consisted of only 6 frames.