Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
MajusArts

Art Update 9: Storyboards and Animatics

38 posts in this topic

Wow, hi guys! My name is Marius Fietzek, and I am a Double Fine intern from Germany. I made this interactive application to get DF's attention, and it actually worked! I started my internship at the beginning of August, and will leave by the end of October, which is actually pretty soon. Oh man, so sad...NO. I won’t go down that road. This shall be a happy and fun forum post, including pictures!

In this post, I will describe the process of making storyboards and animatics for Reds cutscenes. I started my internship as an animator, but at one point Lee asked me to do a storyboard for a cutscene. I love to draw and have been involved in filmmaking my whole life, so I was happy to do the job. Tim added, “Don’t f**k this up,” which was a big motivation boost.

The first step in my process is going through the design document for the scene. It is not as detailed as the script for a movie, but still answers important questions such as what happens to whom and how, where, why, and when it happens. For this forum post, let's take a look at the very first cutscene for our dear Space Boy in which we see him waking up and starting a typical day. The ship's robots do all the work of his daily morning routine, and the boy is obviously annoyed. He has outgrown this life.

Before I begin drawing actual storyboards, I make tiny scribbles in Photoshop while reading the script. They help me note down the images I have in my mind, and don’t need to be detailed or pretty.

art9_01.png

After that I go through the thumbs one more time, maybe add or remove a picture, and then start drawing the storyboard.

Here's one full page:

art9_02.png