Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
DF Chris Remo

Art Update #2: Creating a Visual Style, Part 2

9 posts in this topic

(Somehow Nathan's original post of this got deleted! So I'm reconstructing it--apologies to anyone who was unable to access it from the TOC recently. Not sure what happened there.)

Hello everybody! I am Nathan Stapley. I am an artist for DF and I am working on this game and I am really excited about it! There’s not even a name for it yet! Nuts! I am going to write a post on these forums to fill you all in on what’s been going on with me lately and what kind of things I’ve been doing for this awesome project all you great people made happen. Let me say again that you are all great and thanks for backing this project. It’s going to be super fun to make and see unfold!

So! A post!

As you read in Lee’s previous post about creating a visual style, Lee and Tim picked out a scene from some of the early brainstormy sketches I was bombarding Tim with early on. We used this to get things mocked up, tested and ready to start playing around with. The guys picked this cabin scene. It was from some weird thing I made up about a lumberjack. I decided to go with the sunset vibe of this sketch I did around the same time.

1.jpg

So Lee asked me to put together a pan shot setup—separating layers out for the background, middle ground and foreground, as well as in-between grounds (I just made that phrase up). You saw that in Lee’s previous post. That parallaxing technique gave me a few guidelines for me to work with. For one thing, I know I’m going to have to paint all these layers separately, which is cool because that in itself is something for me to grab onto and think about. I may have taken the parallax concept a bit too literally at first, as I went in more of a paper cutout style. It was just a quick painting for the purposes of getting something for Lee to play around with in After Effects. But we liked it and it looked really great moving around!

2.jpg