Double Fine Action Forums
Sign in to follow this  
sneferu

Letterbox mode

I'm posting this to advice everyone playing with a 16:9 monitor to put the letterbox option in "vertical". I started playing the game in "horizontal" and now I've just realized that I was missing a really BIG chunk of art. I guess it's the price we have to pay to have this beautiful game in multiple platforms.

Yeah is this game really designed in 4:3??

I just started it on my iMac 27", 2560x1440 resolution.

When going to fullscreen in horizontal letterbox mode, it cuts off a big part of the image (probably 1/4 of the top part)! Makes no sense to play it like this.

When setting it to vertical letterbox mode, i get the full image... but only in 4:3 format with letterboxes left and right, which is very annoying.

I assume this is a bug, because otherwise it would be really dumb...

I will wait for the final version to try it again.

Well, they can only do one ratio, do they? If the backgrounds were made in 16:9, the problem would be reverse.

But lmfao, this is about the first good news I head. I'll be sure to enjoy my old 4:3 screen, when I get to play the game :P

Yeaaaah, it's not really possible to design it so both 16:9 and 4:3 screens show everything without letterboxing, so this is not a bug.

I assume DF have valid reason for designing the art in 4:3, although it seems a bit odd in 2014. Maybe it's just that the x axis is more "valuable" in terms of gameplay, so it makes sense to crop the y axis and not vice versa.

I have a 16:9 monitor and playing without letterboxing didn't bother me one bit. It's far superior than having horizontal letterboxing, even if I couldn't see *all* the art.

/***** SPOILER *****/