Double Fine Action Forums
Sign in to follow this  
KuroShiro

Some Constructive (I hope) Criticism

Since the response to the game on these forums and elsewhere seems to be overwhelmingly positive, I feel the need to temper that with some well-intentioned criticism. As this post is probably going to come across as pretty negative, I'll say in advance that I thought the game did many things right, mainly the 'arty' aspects. The background art and the animations were both beautiful and very well done. The soundtrack and voice acting were both excellent. The story reveal at the end leaves me looking forward to the conclusion.

However, there are also things that I felt the game did wrong, and sadly a lot of those things are aspects of adventure games that I care about quite a bit. As background, I've been playing adventure games for over twenty years, have played basically every one of note, and think Grim Fandango is the pinnacle of the genre. i.e. I really, really like adventure games.

My issues with BA revolve entirely around its game-play and design. Firstly, the interface itself is clunky and unpleasant to use, mainly due to the one-button only interaction system. Accessing the inventory and using items is clumsy, particularly if using a touchpad. There's really no reason for it to be like this, other than making concessions to design for tablets. Would it be that hard (on computers, at least) to switch right click to examine on inventory items, and make left click simply pick up, so there's no need for the drag-and-drop? Secondly, the one-button interface also makes movement a bit irritating, particularly in parts of the cloud colony area where clicking a hotspot by mistake means dropping through the clouds. Basically I wish there was a verb-coin, but I realize that probably won't happen because of tablets (grumblegrumble), so I hope DF can at least make a few concessions to usability on PC/mac.