Double Fine Action Forums
Sign in to follow this  
Juanique

Missing story context for Vella's first part?

When I started playing with Vella I felt like I missed the part where it's explained that she's a sacrifice girl. I mean this is how the game starts:

- Vella wakes up, her sister is looking for her.

- Vella says she's not scared (about what?), that it's a great honor (what is?)

- Surprise party, people are proud, they want to celebrate and eat. The knife's missing. Clearly a special day for vella.

Then you can start talking to people, say you talk to Levina, you have the following option: "Why don't we fight mog Chothra?". If I hadn't been following the development of the game and watched the trailer I would have been like... WTF.

You can also ask her "Why was I chosen?" emm.. for what?, and the answer doesn't really help understand what she's talking about.

Anyway I guess people can eventually figure out what's going on, but I try to imagine someone who's not a backer playing this game and it seems like a very weird (and definitely not good) way to introduce the story and characters.

As it is now, I feel like I need to tell people to watch the Vella trailer before playing the game if they don't want to be completely confused at the beginning.