Double Fine Action Forums
Sign in to follow this  
c0d3monk33

How did the Double Fine team find MOAI?

I'm a professional commercial developer, but a hobbyist game developer who's been using MOAI for over a year now. As MOAI was the platform used by DF for Broken Age I'm curious how the development team found the experience? In particular how easy was it to extend the C++ host code, how helpful was MOAI in supporting the cross platform versions of Broken Age? How closely did you work with the Zipline guys? Or did you just take the open platform and run with it?

Think you'll be using MOAI for future DF games? (Ok that's probably commercially sensitive I guess).

Think you'll be using MOAI for future DF games? (Ok that's probably commercially sensitive I guess).
MOAI is already used for Spacebase DF-9, Middle Manager of Justice and Hack 'n' Slash at DF, so I imagine they really liked the experience. It seems to be their goto choice for 2D games now.

MOAI is already used for Spacebase DF-9, Middle Manager of Justice and Hack 'n' Slash at DF, so I imagine they really liked the experience. It seems to be their goto choice for 2D games now.

Mind, only MMOJ is older than DFA/BA. The other two you mention came out during the first public-participation Amnesia Fortnight.

So the history behind it is that we did an internal Amnesia Fornight, where some of the pitched ideas were for 2D games. Our other engine, Buddha (all our 3D games ship on it), doesn't have 2D capabilities at the moment. Because the studio has used Lua extensively for years, we researched a bunch of 2D engines that have a Lua API for gameplay code and found a couple. MOAI was the only one that was available for free and with full source code -- all the others had to be licensed and even then did not provide the source code.