Double Fine Action Forums
Sign in to follow this  
Montee

Calling Tim Schafer!!

I'm not sure if this has any chance of working and getting to Tim at all, but I'll try. Seen as I can't seem to find any other way.

So, could you, almighty Tim Of Legend, help a young hatchling games designer out. I'm a current Masters student at the University of Central Lancashire in the UK.

I was wondering if you could share some of your glorious knowledge about the ways you guide player using environments within your games to help my research.

I'm currently researching ways a games environment can guide or become game play. This is also with research into the psychology of design and how we humans among Legends understand environments in the real world. I want to find out if this can be used to help or push (my preferred method ;) ) players into looking at the game environment for help/instruction rather than relying on on- screen instruction manuals.

And if this gets to you thank you for taking your time to help me.

Thank you

Montee

Are you talking about sign posting? I think some of Valve's commentary tracks in Half-Life 2 and Portal 2 go into detail about some of the details they add. I think it's fairly similar across the board: the use of lighting (a bright light down coming from an alley would indicate you should go that way), placing large amounts of interesting detail in an otherwise sparse environment to attract a player, etc. You can also use sign posting to add 'secrets' to a game. Add a very obvious sign post (perhaps an open door and a lit up building on an otherwise abandoned street) and a dark alley the player passes on the way. Most players will skip the alley, but why not hide some something there to reward the curious?