Double Fine Action Forums
Sign in to follow this  
AdamBeckett

The Irrational Games of not being like Double Fine

I just wrote this (see below) and posted it on Gamasutra. I probably shouldn't have. The most amazing part is, I am sober! Reposting it here, to see, if some even more sober voice of the trusted DF community thinks "This is stupid. Take it down" ... or not - much obliged.

Today was a weird day. The Irrational Games announcement got me thinking. Ken Levine - another veteran of this still young ‘video game industry’ - and the path he is taking. I can only speculate. I have no inside knowledge at all. I don’t work in video games.

I remember asking in the Irrational Games forums, several years ago (it was about 100 of us), why they are not “diversifying” - it was the time, when Double Fine started to ship their first ‘smaller games’, post Brütal Legend. The ones, that came out of previous Amnesia Fortnights. Irrational was a “one-AAA-game-at-a-time” shop. Bioshock Infinite was already in the making, but not announced.

The answer I got, from somebody senior from their staff, was “we are not that kind of company”.

I remembered that today, when I heard about the Irrational Games announcement.

What I am trying to say: Tim Schafer deserves even more recognition, for how he is doing things?

If you yourself are creative, there are several stages (or walls) you come across in your career.

The first wall is to not just be creative yourself, but work (well) together with others. Another step is, to not just be a good team player, but to be able to lead a team. Yet another step is to be able to ride that unpredictable Bronco (Bronco - is a horse, non-Steed fans), which is the management level of leading a company; being able to make management decisions, having the burden of being responsible for the company and the people who work in it and the families who depend on it … on you.