Double Fine Action Forums
Sign in to follow this  
naninho205

Steam: A Problem with Save Game Data

Around 2013, Double Fine started developing Linux ports of their older games. This was a great initiative but, with the Steam Linux client still in diapers, some problems arose. Mainly, the Steam Cloud couldn't sync between different platforms, forcing us to replay the games from the beginning.

Some of the games that weren't working back then are now syncing flawlessly between different platforms (Costume Quest, Stacking). Others still aren't (Psychonauts, Brütal Legend).

But what bothers me the most right now is the fact that with their newer games (Broken Age, Grim Fandango) Double Fine decided to put the saved data loosely into the game folder. Sure, the Steam Cloud works fine with these games but the problem is that it doesn't distinguish which data belongs to each user! The other day I started playing Broken Age after a long time, only to find that my brother (using HIS Windows account and HIS Steam account on the same computer) replaced all of my saves with his own! WE NEED A FIX!

This is the current situation for the games that I had the chance to try:

Steam Game         Save Game Data Location (Windows)                 Account-specific    Cross-platform Sync

Psychonauts        \profiles\                          X                   X

//Costume Quest    \userdata\\115100\         ✓                   ✓

//Stacking         \userdata\\115110\         ✓                   ✓

The Cave           %APPDATA%\Doublefine\TheCave\\           ✓                   X

Brütal Legend      %APPDATA%\Doublefine\BrutalLegend\\      ✓                   X

Broken Age         \saves\                             X                   ✓

//Hack 'n' Slash   \userdata\\246070\         ✓                   ✓

Grim Fandango      \saves\                             X                   ✓