Double Fine Action Forums
Sign in to follow this  
distortedjew

i dont know what to do for my future.

I am a sophomore in high school and I'm not sure what to do for college. recently i realized i would like to make video games, but i don't know were to start. at first i thought i would just make concept art for games, creating characters and landscapes that bring games to life. but i discovered that i would also like to take part in the story of the game and the characters and designing game-play. i want to create an entire experience for others to enjoy not just a small piece of one like, how Tim Schafer imagines these amazing games and makes them a reality. but i have no idea what direction i should take in high school, or what to do in college to get to a place like that. so what i want to know is does anyone know how Tim Schafer got there? I'm sorry if this is the wrong place for this. i have absolutely no idea were to find help. anything is appreciated.

here are the best tips anyone can give you:

1. stop thinking so far ahead

2. focus on doing well in school and your current pursuits

from his wikipedia page, Tim went to Berkeley and got a degree in computer science. this lead to a job as a programmer and progressed from there. you mentioned you were interested in becoming a concept artist, so that might not be the path for you. don't try to emulate it if it doesn't feel right.

You're not going to be able to just jump in and be able to directing entire games. You just aren't.

Tim got his start writing games. I would suggest starting there and working your way up to director. Aim for small companies that are just starting to grow (eg. Twisted Pixel, where I plan on working soon). You can get there, just don't expect it to be easy.

1. stop thinking so far ahead

this is terrible advice ^^