Sign in to follow this  
DF Mark

Character designs

Hi everyone - my name is Mark Hamer and I'm an artist at Double Fine. I'm starting to design the characters for Hack 'n Slash and thought I would post some concepts here as I go. Hope you like them! First up is my concept for the hero/heroine of the game. We decided to go with a female hero and her primary weapon will be the usb cable she carries(we've already ditched the sword)...

Next up is the forest monster. Like the other characters you encounter in the game, he has a port you can plug into(his mouth)...

ForestMonster.jpg

ForestMonster.jpg.77de823f3847d49218521e

These look great. I hope the team finds a way to actually have the prototype look like this with some painted backgrounds like a traditional cartoon.

These look awesome, but I have to admit I'm a little confused about what's going on with the girl's hair. It seems to be tied back into a small shock of hair, but then there is also a ponytail underneath that.

I love that I can see the pixel blocks faintly in the fill of her hair and the fill of the monster ... nice touch!

Next up is the forest monster. Like the other characters you encounter in the game, he has a port you can plug into(his mouth)...

If you have a dinosaur, it should have a serial port instead. Or maybe coax.

Thanks for sharing your concepts, this process is so cool! I've backed Kickstarters before, but these 2 weeks are going to be the ultimate turnaround or concept-into-game experience!

I really like the monster; it's simple with all the key features (looks like a monster, has usb port). They remind me of octarocs, maybe they spit usb-sticks or corporeal packets of data? Or try to plug-in to or eat your character and deal damage up close?

These look awesome, but I have to admit I'm a little confused about what's going on with the girl's hair. It seems to be tied back into a small shock of hair, but then there is also a ponytail underneath that.