• Announcements

• Spaff

These Forums are closing!   10/04/2019

After more than a decade of serving this community well, these forums have finally run their course and it's time to close them down. That doesn't mean we want to close the doors on our community, quite the opposite!
      Our discord server grows ever busier by the day, and we encourage all Double Fine fans to meet us over there www.discord.gg/doublefine In a short time these forums will become a read only archive and will remain that way until they become needed again.
      You never know, it might happen.  There is... a prophecy. Thank you all for being part of these forums, and remember that the fun is definitely not over - so please join us on Discord! Love ya, Spaff, Tim, Info Cow, and all of Double Fine.
Sign in to follow this  
Derek Brand

Concept Art

Hi. I'm a concept artist working on The White Birch. I live-streamed earlier and thought I'd share it on the forums. These are still exploration sketches... trying out a few different things. Nothing final yet :) Enjoy

Aye, that middle image girl's face is great, and I really like the wrap in the back dress with the orange shoulders from the first image - right side.

I'm looking at the white-haired one in the third image on the right - I like the idea of a very ethereal girl with white hair, who shares that quality with the birch itself. I also love the determined look on the girl's face. She has the expression of a thoughtful hero to me, looking out with determination to where she's heading. Of the drawings you've made, I'd love to play as her the most and identify with her the most.

Cool. I love the butterflies flitting about her head. May want to take care so as to not look too similar to American McGee's Alice, though.

For example, compare to this fanart:

tumblr_m7ygu03O6j1rn9mb5o1_500.jpg

tumblr_mceefiqhqw1rgxxuxo1_500.jpg

I especially like the face and hair of the top-left drawing, as well as the mid-right and bottom-right ones.