Double Fine Action Forums
Sign in to follow this  
buckysrevenge

... and on Linux, too!

Yeah, I also want to pre-order, but if I do so, will I get the Linux version?

In Steam, it is listed as a Windows and Mac game (or was last night when I checked). I'm brand new to Steam, having managed my library on my own for over a decade, in Humble since 2010, and on Desura since the summer beta in 2011. Do you automagically get every platform version upon release? That's how Desura and Humble (store and bundle) work.

I really want to pre-order & support DF, but I also want to play The Cave ... what do I do?! X-(

Checked on Steam just now, it still says nothing about Linux...

O' LORD GILBERT!! I TRUST YOUR WORDS... BUT I AM CONSUMED IN DOUBT AND FEAR! AM I FORSAKEN?!

Buy a game once on Steam, and you get it for every platform. If a new platform is added later on for a game, you'll still get access to it. You have nothing to worry about.

Thanks, Syd! Done.

I just bought my first Steam game.

[ thunder and lightning crashing overhead ]

Now, how do I get my purchase counted as a Linux supporter? Does Valve simply track which OS client it was that was used to make the purchase? Does anybody even know?

Yeah, Steam has some data tracking capabilities to see what OS people are playing it on and what-not, since that's some interesting information to developers and publishers. Ron answered with this when asked about an individual's purchase showing as a Linux purchase: "It's based on how much you play each version in the first few weeks."

I'm definitely going to play the hell out of it on Linux during the first few weeks then. I don't have too many other games left to play on Linux after I finished the Book of Unwritten Tales a couple of days ago.

There's a lot more focused based on the hardware and software survey, wherby they look at the % of every OS being used by Steam users.