Double Fine Action Forums
Sign in to follow this  
DF Lydia

Art Update 12: Character Texture Management

Hi, backers! My name is Lydia Choy, and I’m a technical artist on Broken Age.

Lee previously talked about lighting in this forum post: http://www.doublefine.com/forums/viewthread/9172/

Now I’ll go into more detail about the script that manages the various views and data that is in a character texture, using the boy as an example.

STEPS:

1) Artist first paints different views of a character (front, side, back, etc), and then organizes the different layers into folders which correspond to each character view. In this case there is three textures for the back, side and front of his head, and another three textures for the back, side and front of his body. Each of these views have a folder with the “View_” prefix.

art12_01.png

2) Different parts of each view need to be separated into animatable parts (Head, eyes, upper arm, forearm, etc), which are arranged in a reasonable manner onto a square texture, which are then UV-mapped to geometry. (For more on the process of UV mapping, Wikipedia has some explanation: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UV_mapping ) The script creates a folder called UV_Layouts, and each child folder corresponds to a UV texture that needs to be generated. It crops each texture based on the layer mask, and also grabs the desired resolution of the texture from the folder name.

art12_02.png